A record-setting 199 college football players were named semifinalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy this week, an award recognizing an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation. The award considers academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership.

Of the nearly 200 semifinalists, 10 were from the B1G. Each school is only permitted to have one nominee for the award. Below are the 10 B1G names who have been named semifinalists for the award:

  • Illinois: Blake Hayes
  • Indiana: Harry Crider
  • Michigan: Will Hart
  • Michigan State: Dom Long
  • Minnesota: Conner Olson
  • Nebraska: Ben Stille
  • Northwestern: Tyler Gilliken
  • Ohio State: Drue Chrisman
  • Rutgers: Billy Taylor
  • Wisconsin: Jack Coan

Candidates must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility. They must have at least a 3.2 GPA on a 4.0 scale, possess outstanding football ability and demonstrate strong leadership and citizenship.

Last year’s winner was Oregon quarterback Justin Herbert. The last B1G player to receive the award was Penn State’s John Urschel.