Eleven walk-ons from the B1G have been nominated for the prestigious 2021 Burlsworth Trophy. The award is given annually to “College football’s most outstanding player who began his career as a walk-on.”

Here are the candidates from the B1G for this season’s award:

  • WR Donny Navarro III, Illinois
  • RB Davion Ervin-Poindexter, Indiana
  • S Jack Koerner, Iowa
  • DL Greg Rose, Maryland
  • C Andrew Vastardis, Michigan
  • LB Luke Reimer, Nebraska
  • LB Chris Bergin, Northwestern
  • TE Mitch Rossi, Ohio State
  • LS Chris Stoll, Penn State
  • LS Billy Taylor, Rutgers
  • DE Matt Henningsen, Wisconsin

Last season’s winner was Pitt center Jimmy Morrissey.

The award is named after former Arkansas walk-on Brandon Burlsworth, who was selected by the Indianapolis Colts with the 63rd overall pick in the 1999 NFL Draft. The University of Arkansas has since created an endowment in Burlsworth’s name.

In total, 88 players from across the nation are nominated. The last winner from the B1G was Michigan State defensive end Kenny Willekes in 2019.