The 2022 preseason is in full swing with conferences beginning media days around the country. The B1G will take its turn during “talking season” next week in Indianapolis with the SEC hosting media days this week.

As things continue to ramp up throughout the summer, publications continue to release preseason lists for awards. That group includes the Maxwell Award which released its preseason watchlist on Monday. That watchlist included a host of players from around the country and 12 players out of the B1G.

Included on the list is Minnesota RB Mohamed Ibrahim who is looking to rebound from a season-ending injury during Week 1 of the 2021 season. A big play combo from Michigan State and a trio of Ohio State stars also made the list.

Here are the 12 B1G players included:

  • RB Chase Brown, Illinois
  • RB Blake Corum, Michigan
  • QB Payton Thorne, Michigan State
  • WR Jayden Reed, Michigan State
  • RB Mohamed Ibrahim, Minnesota
  • RB Evan Hull, Northwestern
  • QB C.J. Stroud, Ohio State
  • WR Jaxon Smith-Njigba, Ohio State
  • RB TreVeyon Henderson, Ohio State
  • QB Sean Clifford, Penn State
  • QB Aidan O’Connell, Purdue
  • RB Braelon Allen, Wisconsin

Alabama QB Bryce Young captured the 2021 Maxwell Award. Michigan State’s Kenneth Walker III was a finalist for the award.