The heart of the summer is always preseason watchlist time for the college football season. That trend continued Tuesday with the announcement of the watchlist for the 2022 Dodd Trophy.

Named after legendary coach Bobby Dodd, the award is given annually to the FBS coach “that best embodies the three pillars of success: scholarship, leadership and integrity.” Cincinnati’s Luke Fickell earned the Dodd Trophy for 2021.

The preseason watchlist entering 2022 included 5 coaches out of the B1G:

  • Paul Chryst, Wisconsin
  • Ryan Day, Ohio State
  • Kirk Ferentz, Iowa
  • Jim Harbaugh, Michigan
  • Mel Tucker, Michigan State

From that group, Ferentz is the only head coach to win the award previously. He took home the award following the 2015 season after Iowa went 12-2 with a Rose Bowl appearance.

The most recent winner out of the B1G was Northwestern’s Pat Fitzgerald in 2020.