The Jim Thorpe Award annually goes to the best defensive back in all of college football. The semifinalists were announced Monday, with 3 B1G DBs up for the award.

Twelve players were selected as semifinalists all from various schools around the country. Ohio State’s Lathan Ransom, Illinois’ Devon Witherspoon, and Penn State’s Joey Porter Jr. were apart of the group.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

There is big news coming to the upcoming 2022-23 Big Ten football season (and NFL season). Ohio online sports betting and Maryland sports betting are on the way.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

Ransom has 29 total tackles, 1 interception, and 1 forced fumble for the Buckeyes. He has played in every game this season except for Wisconsin.

Porter has done a great job of tackling as well. Porter has 21 total tackles and has played in every game for the Nittany Lions so far.

Witherspoon’s ability to break up passes has been something to watch in 2022. Witherspoon has 11 pass deflections, 21 total tackles, and 1 interception.

Cincinatti CB Coby Bryant won the award last season. The last time that someone from the B1G won the award was Desmond King II for Iowa in 2015.

Can a player from the B1G take home the award once again?