The 2022 preseason is in full swing with talking season coming for the B1G this week. Big Ten Media Days will commence across Tuesday and Wednesday at Lucas Oil Stadium and bring upon the unofficial start to the season.

On Monday, the stream of preseason award lists continued with the 2022 Jim Thorpe Award releasing its watchlist of 35 defensive backs for the award. The award is given annually to the top defensive back in the country.

The B1G is tied with the SEC for the lead with the most selections on the list at 6 players.

  • Ji’Ayir Brown, Penn State
  • Denzel Burke, Ohio State
  • Xavier Henderson, Michigan State
  • Ronnie Hickman, Ohio State
  • Riley Moss, Iowa
  • Joey Porter Jr., Penn State

Cincinnati’s Coby Bryant captured the Jim Thorpe Award in 2021. The most recent winner from the B1G was Iowa’s Desmond King in 2015.