The Wuerffel Trophy released its semifinalists on Tuesday. There were 3 quarterbacks from the B1G who were featured.

Penn State’s Sean Clifford, Minnesota’s Tanner Morgan, and Purdue’s Aidan O’Connell are all up for the award.

While it’s named after former Heisman Trophy winner and Florida QB Danny Wuerffel, this award doesn’t just go to quarterbacks.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

There is big news coming to the upcoming 2022-23 Big Ten football season (and NFL season). Ohio online sports betting and Maryland sports betting are on the way.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

The award is given out annually in Fort Walton Beach, Florida. It goes to the player in college football who best combines community service with leadership on and off the field.

Ohio State’s Joel Penton was the last B1G player to win the award back in 2006.

O’Connell is currently second in the B1G in passing yards this season with 2,270. The only player in the conference above him is Ohio State’s C.J. Stroud.

Morgan has 1,286 yards passing through eight games and has made plenty of plays with his legs as well.

Clifford is 6th in the B1G in passing yards with 1,816. He has 20 total touchdowns and 6 interceptions.

We’ll see if any of these B1G QBs are lucky enough to be announced as finalists later this season.