3 B1G defensive backs have been named finalists for the Jim Thorpe Award.

The award goes to the top defensive back in college football at the end of each season and it’s been going since 1986.

Penn State’s Jaquan Brisker, plus Iowa’s Matt Hankins, and Riley Moss have made the cut before the finalists get announced in a few weeks.

Brisker has put together a stellar season for the Nittany Lions through 7 games. He already has 33 total tackles (22 solo) with a fumble recovery, 2 interceptions, and 4 passes defended. This is all coming off a 2020 season where he had 57 total tackles (33 solo) with 1 interception and 4 passes defended.

Both Hankins and Moss have been key cogs in Iowa’s secondary this season and a main reason why the program leads the nation in interceptions. Hankins currently has 25 total tackles (17 solo) and 3 interceptions along with 1 pass defended.

Moss has 23 total tackles (21 solo) with 4 interceptions (2 of them pick 6’s) along with 3 passes defended.