Three B1G stars have been named finalists for the 2021 Naismith Trophy Player of the Year. The group of 10 players still in the running for the honor was released on Thursday.

Illinois’ Ayo Dosunmu, Michigan’s Hunter Dickinson and Iowa’s Luka Garza were included as semifinalists for the honor. The other seven players still in consideration are Jared Butler (Butler), Cade Cunningham (Oklahoma State), Quentin Grimes (Houston), Herbert Jones (Alabama), Corey Kispert (Gonzaga), Evan Mobley (USC), Drew Timme (Gonzaga).

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

There is big news coming to the upcoming 2022-23 Big Ten football season (and NFL season). Ohio online sports betting and Maryland sports betting are on the way.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

Annually, the Naismith Trophy Player of the Year Award is presented to the most outstanding player in college basketball who achieve tremendous on-court success.

Dickinson has been one of the top freshmen in college basketball all season long. The 7-foot-1 center is averaging 14.4 points, 7.7 rebounds, 1.6 blocks and just under 1 assist per game, while playing over 24 minutes per contest. Michigan is 18-2 this season and sits atop the B1G standings.

Dosunmu has been as electrifying as any player in college basketball this year. The Illinois star has averaged 21 points, 5.3 assists and 6.3 rebounds per game and is shooting over 48% from the floor and 40% from 3-point range. Dosunmu has missed the last three games with a facial injury, but Illiniois is still 19-6 on the year.

Garza was named a semifinalist for the award for a second consecutive year. The double-double machine from Iowa is averaging 24.3 points, 8.4 rebounds and 1.8 assists per contest and is knocking down better than 45% of his shots from 3-point range. The Hawkeyes are 18-7 this year.