Three B1G quarterbacks are still in the running for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, an honor presented to the top college quarterback both on and off the field.

A list that started with 30 names has been trimmed to 15, with the B1G making up one-fifth of the candidates. Northwestern’s Clayton Thorson, Michigan’s Shea Patterson and Penn State’s Trace McSorley were the three to make the cut.

Here’s the full list of 15 candidates:

  • Jake Browning, Washington
  • Eric Dungey, Syracuse
  • Ryan Finley, NC State
  • Will Grier, West Virginia
  • Justin Herbert, Oregon
  • Drew Lock, Missouri
  • Trace McSorley, Penn State
  • McKenzie Milton, UCF
  • Gardner Minshew, Washington State
  • Steven Montez, Colorado
  • Shea Patterson, Michigan
  • Brett Rypien, Boise State
  • Jordan Ta’amu, Ole Miss
  • Clayton Thorson, Northwestern
  • Brady White, Memphis

From the award website:

The Golden Arm Award® is organized by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and presented by A. O. Smith. The award has been presented at the end of each season since 1987 to the nations top college quarterback, based on accomplishments both on and off the field.

Patterson has been an excellent fit at Michigan, putting the Wolverines in position to win the B1G East and potentially earn a spot in the College Football Playoff.

McSorley has been outstanding through his entire career at Penn State and is currently one of the top passers and rushers in the B1G. The Lions are 5-2 on the season.

Thorson is recovering from an ACL injury he suffered last season but has been impressive as of late. After a sluggish start to the season, the Wildcats are now contending in the B1G West.

The winner of the Golden Arm Award will be honored on Dec. 7, 2018 in Baltimore, Maryland.