Professional football is being played this weekend as the new USFL has officially launched.

Across the 8 teams, there are 39 former Big Ten players. Emily Van Buskirk compiled the list and shared it on Twitter:

The first game was played Saturday with the Birmingham Stallions defeating the New Jersey Generals 28-24.

There are 3 more games scheduled for Sunday:
All times ET

  • Houston Gamblers vs. Michigan Panthers – 12:00 p.m., NBC and Peacock
  • Philadelphia Stars vs. New Orleans Breakers – 4 p.m., USA Network
  • Tampa Bay Bandits vs. Pittsburgh Maulers – 8 p.m., FOX Sports 1

The United States Football League (USFL) is a new, independent football league that is not affiliated with the defunct 1980s league or its owners. The inaugural USFL season kicks off Saturday with 8 teams split into 2 divisions: the Birmingham Stallions, Houston Gamblers, New Orleans Breakers, and Tampa Bay Bandits in the South Division; and the Michigan Panthers, Pittsburgh Maulers, New Jersey Generals, and Philadelphia Stars in the North Division. All games in the 2022 regular season are being played in Birmingham, Alabama.