The Frank Broyles Award announced its semifinalists on Tuesday afternoon. The award is given out to the best assistant coach in all of college football and has been around since 1996.

There were 4 Big Ten assistants who found their names on the list. Coaches from the SEC, Big 12, ACC, American, and C-USA also had semifinalists.

Below are the coaches that made the cut from the B1G:

  • Kevin Wilson, Ohio State OC
  • Phil Parker, Iowa DC/DB coach
  • Josh Gattis, Michigan OC/WR coach
  • Jim Leonhard, Wisconsin DC/safeties coach

The most recent winner was former Alabama OC/QB coach Steve Sarkisian in 2020, who went on to take the head coaching job with the Texas Longhorns. The last coach to win it from the B1G was Tom Herman in 2014 when he was at Ohio State as the OC/QB coach under Urban Meyer.

This group will be narrowed down to 5 finalists, each of whom will get invites to a 2-day event in Little Rock, Arkansas. The winner will be announced on Dec. 7.