Four B1G head coaches have been recognized for their excellent work through the first eight weeks of the season.

On Wednesday, the Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award Watch List was released, which included 22 head coaches from across college football. Four of those names were from the B1G. Those on the watch list are:

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

There is big news coming to the upcoming 2022-23 Big Ten football season (and NFL season). Ohio online sports betting and Maryland sports betting are on the way.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

  • Paul Chryst, Wisconsin
  • Ryan Day, Ohio State
  • P.J. Fleck, Minnesota
  • James Franklin, Penn State


Coach Bryant was a leader, both on and off the field. He possessed the ability to inspire, the patience to teach, and the gift of leadership. The Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award salutes those coaches who have reached that same high standard of excellence.

Last year’s winner was Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney. In 2017, Scott Frost won the award for leading UCF to a perfect 13-0 season before taking the job at Nebraska.

The last B1G head coach to win the award was Penn State’s Bill O’Brien in 2012.