Four B1G defensive backs are on the preseason watch list for the Jim Thorpe Award entering 2020. The preseason list was released on Monday by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame and Jim Thorpe Association.

In total, 49 defensive backs were included on the Jim Thorpe Award Watch List. The four B1G schools that had a player make the cut were Wisconsin, Michigan, Ohio State and Penn State.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

There is big news coming to the upcoming 2022-23 Big Ten football season (and NFL season). Ohio online sports betting and Maryland sports betting are on the way.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

Below are the four candidates out of the B1G:

  • Eric Burrell, Wisconsin
  • Ambry Thomas, Michigan
  • Shaun Wade, Ohio State
  • Lamont Wade, Penn State

Other players may be added to the list as the season progresses.

The list will be trimmed down to a group of semifinalists on Nov. 2 and finalists are scheduled to be revealed on Nov. 23. A few weeks later, on Dec. 10, the 2020 winner of the award will be named.

Last year, LSU’s Grant Delpit was the recipient of the Jim Thorpe Award. Iowa’s Desmond King was the last B1G defensive back to claim the award, being named the winner in 2015.