There’s a plethora of coaching talent in the B1G, and it became even more apparent on Tuesday.

Fifteen college football assistant coaches were named semifinalists for the Frank Broyles Award, presented to the top assistant coach in college football coach. One-third of the names on the list (five) hailed from the B1G.

Of the 15 candidates, five will be named finalists and will travel to Little Rock, Ark., where the winner will be announced on Tuesday, Dec. 10. Last year’s winner was Alabama offensive coordinator and current Maryland head coach Mike Locksley.

Winners of the previous five years are not eligible to win the award. Here are the 15 semifinalists, with the B1G assistants in bold:

  • Kevin Steele, DC — Auburn
  • Phil Snow, DC/S — Baylor
  • Jeff Scott, Co-OC/WR — Clemson
  • Dan Lanning, DC/OLB — Georgia
  • Kalen DeBoer, OC/QB — Indiana
  • Joe Brady, Pass Game Coordiantor/WR — LSU
  • Don Brown, DC — Michigan
  • Kirk Ciarrocca, OC/QB — Minnesota
  • Brian Newberry, DC/S — Navy
  • Jeff Hafley, Co-DC/Secondary — Ohio State
  • Alex Grinch, DC/S — Oklahoma
  • Andy Avalos, DC — DC
  • Rhett Lashlee, OC/QB — SMU
  • Jim Leonhard, DC — Wisconsin
  • Morgan Scalley, DC/S — Utah