The semifinalists for the Jason Whitten Collegiate Man of the Year were announced on Wednesday with six B1G players making the cut.

The Jason Whitten Collegiate Man of the Year is an award that “honors exemplary leadership by a college player,” per its website. The sixth annual award recognizes athletes that demonstrate leadership, courage, integrity, and sportsmanship both on and off the field.

The B1G topped the selections with six players on the list, more than any other conference, including:

  • WR Kamryn Babb, Ohio State
  • QB Sean Clifford, Penn State
  • RB Blake Corum, Michigan
  • DB Tailon Leitzsey, Illinois
  • DB Kaevon Merriweather, Iowa
  • QB Tanner Morgan, Minnesota

Three finalists will be in contention for the award on Wednesday, Dec. 14. The winner will then be announced in a ceremony in Frisco, Tex. on Feb. 23, 2023.

A total of 20 young men are in the running for this award among the B1G players, five from the ACC, SEC and Pac-12 with three players each, American Athletic with two and Big 12 with one selection.

The winner will receive a $10,000 contribution to the individual players’ school for its athletic scholarship fund. Jason Whitten’s SCORE Foundation will make the contribution.