The college basketball season is in the heart of conference play with a 3-way tie atop the B1G standings heading into the middle of February. Purdue, Wisconsin, and Illinois share the top spot at a 10-3 record each in conference play.

Those 3 teams also share the distinction of having some key players land on the midseason team for the 2022 Naismith Trophy. Illinois’ Kofi Cockburn, Wisconsin’s Johnny Davis, and Purdue duo Zach Edey and Jaden Ivey landed on the team, along with 3 other B1G stars.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

There is big news coming to the upcoming 2022-23 Big Ten football season (and NFL season). Ohio online sports betting and Maryland sports betting are on the way.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

From that initial group, Cockburn leads the way at 21.6 points per game for the Illini. Cockburn ranks 7th nationally (2nd in the B1G) in points per game while Iowa’s Keegan Murray leads the conference and ranks 4th nationally with 22.4 points per game.


ESPN BET is now live in 17 states

Use promo code SATURDAY to get your $250 bonus


The Naismith Trophy is given annually to the best player in college basketball. Iowa’s Luka Garza captured the award following the 2020-21 season.

Here is the full list of B1G stars on the midseason team for the Naismith Trophy:

  • E.J. Liddell, F, Ohio State
  • Jaden Ivey, G, Purdue
  • Johnny Davis, G, Wisconsin
  • Keegan Murray, F, Iowa
  • Kofi Cockburn, C, Illinois
  • Trayce Jackson-Davis, F, Indiana
  • Zach Edey, C, Purdue