There are some ferocious pass rushers in the B1G this season.

As the first games of the college football season are quickly approaching, many award watchlists have been published. The Ted Hendricks Award followed suit with its watch list for the 2019 season on Tuesday.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

There is big news coming to the upcoming 2022-23 Big Ten football season (and NFL season). Ohio online sports betting and Maryland sports betting are on the way.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

Named after college football’s first three-time first-team All-American, the award annually honors the top defensive end in college football. On-field performance, a winning attitude, contributions to school and community, and academic preparedness are listed as some of the criteria used to select a winner. Carl Nassib was the last winner from the B1G in 2015.

RELATED: 5 B1G QBs land on watch list for Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

Chase Young, A.J. Epenesa, and Kenny Willekes headlined the list of eight B1G players named to the watchlist:

  • Carter Coughlin – Minnesota
  • Mike Danna – Michigan
  • A.J. Epenesa – Iowa
  • Joe Gaziano – Northwestern
  • Yetur Gross-Matos – Penn State
  • Isaiahh Loudermilk – Wisconsin
  • Kenny Willekes – Michigan State
  • Chase Young – Ohio State