The John Mackey Award is given out annually to the most outstanding TE in all of college football. There were 8 B1G TEs who made the preseason watchlist according to

A total of 54 TEs were selected for the 2022 watchlist. Nearly ever major conference in college football has a player represented. Michigan and Penn State had the most players up for the award out of all the B1G schools with 2 each. The majority of the B1G schools who made players make the list were from the B1G West.

Last year’s winner was Trey McBride from Colorado State. The last winner from the B1G was former Iowa and Detroit Lions TE T.J. Hockenson. Here who’s is up for the 2022 John Mackey Award from the B1G:

  • Sam LaPorta-Iowa
  • Payne Durham-Purdue
  • Erick All-Michigan
  • Luke Schoonmaker-Michigan
  • Brenton Strange-Penn State
  • Brevyn Spann-Ford-Minnesota
  • Luke Ford-Illinois
  • Theo Johnson-Penn State