Watch List season has officially arrived. Not even a pandemic can slow down the release of names to watch for numerous college football awards for the (hopefully) upcoming season.

On Monday, the Maxwell Football Club released its 2020 Watch List for the Chuck Bednarik Award, presented annually to the most outstanding defensive player in college football. This year will mark the 26th season of the award.

Nine B1G players were included on the list this preseason. Michigan was the only school with multiple selections, having two players make the cut. Illinois, Indiana, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin all had one player on the list.

Here are the nine B1G players mentioned:

  • Jake Hansen, LB, Illinois
  • George Karlaftis, DE, Purdue
  • Tiawan Mullen, CB, Indiana
  • Micah Parsons, LB, Penn State
  • Kwity Paye, DE, Michigan
  • Jack Sanborn, LB, Wisconsin
  • Antjuan Simmons, LB, Michigan State
  • Ambry Thomas, CB, Michigan
  • Shaun Wade, CB, Ohio State

Last season, Ohio State defensive end was presented with the award. He was the B1G’s first winner since Penn State’s Dan Connor in 2007. Young was also the first Buckeye to claim the trophy.