Nine B1G running backs have earned some preseason recognition, being named to the Doak Walker Award Watch List ahead of the 2019 season.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

There is big news coming to the upcoming 2022-23 Big Ten football season (and NFL season). Ohio online sports betting and Maryland sports betting are on the way.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

The Doak Walker Award is annually presented to the nation’s top running back. Wisconsin’s Jonathan Taylor took home the award after leading the nation in rushing yardage with 2,194 yards. He also scored 16 touchdowns.

Eight B1G schools are also represented on the list, with Minnesota being the only program with two running backs to make the cut. Here’s the full list, which was released on Wednesday:

  • Isaiah Bowser, Northwestern
  • Reggie Corbin, Illinois
  • J.K. Dobbins, Ohio State
  • Mohamed Ibrahim, Minnesota
  • Anthony McFarland Jr., Maryland
  • Mekhi Sargent, Iowa
  • Stevie Scott III, Indiana
  • Rodney Smith, Minnesota
  • Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin

In November, a group of 10 semifinalists will be named. That list will be trimmed to three finalists on Nov. 20. A winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN on Thursday, Dec. 12.