Another basketball season is heating up with another strong group of B1G players represented.

As the calendar flips to January and conference play heats up across the country, the John R. Wooden Award revealed its midseason top 25 watchlist on Wednesday. That list includes 9 stars from the B1G.

Among that group is a healthy number of big men out of the conference. Purdue has 2 such big men on the watchlist in Zach Edey and Trevion Williams. Illinois’ Kofi Cockburn is another player to keep an eye on with a dominant start to the year, as is Iowa’s Keegan Murray with 10 games of 20+ points to his credit this season.

Iowa and B1G fans will remember Luka Garza took home the Wooden Award in 2021. He was the first player out of the B1G to capture the award since Wisconsin’s Frank Kaminsky in 2015.

Here are the B1G players represented on the midseason watch list:

  • Kofi Cockburn, Illinois
  • Johnny Davis, Wisconsin
  • Hunter Dickinson, Michigan
  • Zach Edey, Purdue
  • Jaden Ivey, Purdue
  • Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana
  • EJ Liddell, Ohio State
  • Keegan Murray, Iowa
  • Trevion Williams, Purdue