Andy Katz offered his thoughts on the top freshmen in the Big Ten, and prediction who would win the men’s basketball award.

For the Big Ten Network, Katz quickly explained that Indiana’s Jalen Hood-Schifino would win the Freshman of the Year honor, including scoring 35 points on Saturday at Purdue.

“He’s a pro,” Katz said. “He’s No. 1.”

1. Jalen Hood-Schifino, Indiana
2. Brice Sensabaugh, Ohio State
3. Fletcher Loyer, Purdue
4. Connor Essegian, Wisconsin
5. Braden Smith, Purdue

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

There is big news coming to the upcoming 2022-23 Big Ten football season (and NFL season). Ohio online sports betting and Maryland sports betting are on the way.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

As for Sensabaugh, Katz said he was the favorite early on, but the Buckeyes’ struggles will prevent him from getting the individual award. Sesabaugh only had 2 games short of double figures scoring since Dec. 3.

While Loyer has struggled percentage-wise, he still, like Essegian, consistently put up big numbers across the Big Ten schedule.

As for Smith, who played 30 minutes per game, Katz said, and pointed out his assists were 4.3 per game, and turnovers were just 1.7.

“His leadership has been outstanding,” Katz said.