Six defensive ends out of the B1G found themselves on the Ted Hendricks Watch List this preseason, as the official announcement was released on Monday.

In total, 36 defensive ends from across college football made the cut.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

There is big news coming to the upcoming 2022-23 Big Ten football season (and NFL season). Ohio online sports betting and Maryland sports betting are on the way.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

Here are the names of the six B1G defensive ends who were listed on the watch list:

  • Nick Bosa, Ohio State
  • Rashan Gary, Michigan
  • Shareef Miller, Penn State
  • Anthony Nelson, Iowa
  • Kenny Willekes, Michigan State
  • Chase Winovich, Michigan

Here are the criteria for the Hendricks Award, per the release:

The Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football’s first three-time, first-team All-American. On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the Award’s recipient each year.

Last year’s winner was N.C. State defensive lineman Bradley Chubb. The last B1G defensive end to win the award was Penn State’s Carl Nassib in 2015.

The winner of the Hendricks Award will be announced on Dec. 12.