The B1G has a number of veteran defenders returning for the 2023 season, and the league’s defensive depth was highlighted on the 2023 preseason watch list for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

The watch list was announced Tuesday with 94 defenders from 69 schools across the country. The B1G placed 15 players on the watch list, tied with SEC for the most players from a single conference entering the season.

Finalists for the award will be revealed on Nov. 15 with the winner unveiled at a Dec. 4 banquet in Charlotte, NC.

Ohio State, Penn State and Michigan each placed 3 defenders on the preseason watch list. The Nittany Lions and Wolverines also placed a player from each level of the defense on the watch list. Illinois was the other program with multiple defenders selected.

Here is every B1G defensive star on the watch list:

  • LB Abdul Carter, Penn State
  • LB Junior Colson, Michigan
  • CB Cooper DeJean, Iowa
  • LB Tommy Eichenberg, Ohio State
  • LB Cal Haladay, Michigan State
  • DT Kris Jenkins, Michigan
  • CB Kalen King, Penn State
  • S Rod Moore, Michigan
  • DE Jer’Zhan Newton, Illinois
  • LB Maema Njongmeta, Wisconsin
  • S Tyler Nubin, Minnesota
  • DT Keith Randolph Jr., Illinois
  • S Lathan Ransom, Ohio State
  • DE Chop Robinson, Penn State
  • DE JT Tuimoloau, Ohio State