The battle for the Big Ten West is 1 of the tightest for any division in the nation. So much so that there’s even the wild possibility of the entire 7-team field being tied at the end of the regular season.

Wisconsin currently sits atop the division, followed by Iowa, Minnesota, and Nebraska. The bottom 3 teams are Northwestern, Purdue, and last-place Illinois.

The publisher for Boiler Upload dropped the hypothetical and it’s a doozy:


ESPN BET is now live in 17 states

Use promo code SATURDAY to get your $250 bonus


This highly unlikely but extremely entertaining scenario creates total chaos as all teams would finish with a 4-5 conference record and 3-3 mark in the division.

Whoever emerges from the muddled pack will likely have to clash with either No. 2 Michigan or No. 3 Ohio State in the Big Ten title game.

Since changing the divisional format in 2014, the West has never won in the championship game. Ohio State won the title from 2017-20, followed by Michigan the last 2 seasons. Wisconsin (4), Northwestern (2), Iowa (2), and Purdue have all failed to top the East representative in that span.

Current West leader Wisconsin will get a crack against Ohio State this weekend in primetime from Camp Randall Stadium (7:30 p.m. EST/NBC). Ohio State has defeated Wisconsin in 9 consecutive matchups. Wisconsin’s last win vs. Ohio State was a 31-18 home victory in 2010.