The B1G will have some of the best defenders in college football taking the field in 2019, particularly at defensive end and linebacker. That was something we already knew heading into the season.

And now, the Bednarik Award Watch List has confirmed that fact. On Monday, the Maxwell Football Club released its annual watch list for the Bednarik Award, and 13 B1G defenders were included on the list.

Each season, the Bednarik Award is presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year. It has been awarded since 1995. Semifinalists will be announced on Oct. 29, 2019 and three finalists will be named on Nov. 25. Winners will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 12.

Below is the list of B1G names mentioned on the 2019 Bednarik Award Watch List:

Joe Bachie, LB — Michigan State

Markus Bailey, LB — Purdue

Antoine Brooks, DB — Maryland

Carter Coughlin, DE — Minnesota

A.J. Epenesa, DE — Iowa

Paddy Fisher, LB — Northwestern

Joe Gaziano, DE — Northwestern

Yetur Gross-Matos, DE — Penn State

Lavert Hill, CB — Michigan

Josh Metellus, CB — Michigan

Micah Parsons, LB — Penn State

Kenny Willekes, DE — Michigan State

Chase Young, DE — Ohio State