Now that the college football regular season is over, we’ve reached that time of year where individual awards and accolades are presented. One of the first to be presented was the B1G All-Freshman team as selected by Big Ten Network.

BTN writer Tom Dienhart submitted his All-Freshman team, which included offense, defense and special teams. He also selected a freshman Offensive Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year.

Some of these names should come as no surprise, as a few freshman had their names called often throughout the 2017 campaign.

Here are the players Dienhart selected for the All-Freshman team:


  • WR: Cody White, Michigan State
  • WR: JD Spielman, Nebraska
  • TE: Louis Dorsey, Illinois
  • OL: Tyler Biadasz, Wisconsin
  • OL: Like Campbell, Michigan
  • OL: Alaric Jackson, Iowa
  • OL: Rashawn Slater, Northwestern
  • OL: Conner Olson, Minnesota
  • QB: Peyton Ramsey, Indiana
  • RB: Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin
  • RB: J.K. Dobbins, Ohio State


  • DL: A.J. Epenesa, Iowa
  • DL: Bobby Roundtree, Illinois
  • DL: Samdup Miller, Northwestern
  • DL: Shaka Toney, Penn State
  • LB: Ben Stille, Nebraska
  • LB: Tuf Borland, Ohio State
  • LB: Paddy Fisher, Northwestern
  • CB: Josiah Scott, Michigan State
  • CB: Nate Hobbs, Illinois
  • CB: Dontye Carriere-Williams, Wisconsin
  • SS: Bennett Williams, Illinois


  • K: Matt Coghlin, Michigan State
  • P: Blake Hayes, Illinois
  • KR: JD Spielman, Nebraska
  • PR: Donovan Peoples-Jones, Michigan

Wisconsin running back Jonathan Taylor was named the Freshman Offensive Player of the Year after rushing for a B1G-best 1,806 yards and 13 touchdowns. Northwestern linebacker Paddy Fisher was named the Defensive Player of the year, finishing the year with 11o tackles, including eight stops for loss.

Dienhart also provided a list of candidates worthy of honorable mentions for each team. That list can be viewed here.