The Big Ten announced its defensive selections for the 2022 football season.

On Tuesday afternoon, the B1G revealed what defensive players will be honored. The 1st-team defense included a total of 14 players from across the conference.

Notable players and consensus selections from both coaches and media included Illinois’ defensive lineman Jer’Zhan Newton, Michigan defensive linemen Mike Morris and Mazi Smith, Iowa linebacker Jack Campbell, Wisconsin linebacker Nick Herbig, Ohio State linebacker Tommy Eichenberg and Illinois defensive back Devon Witherspoon.


While the 2nd-Team Defense also is a pretty stacked list, as well. The 2nd-Team all-conference defensive selections consisted of 11 players.

Five of whom were dubbed by both media and coaches to the all-conference list, include Iowa defensive lineman Lukas Van Ness, Nebraska defensive lineman Garrett Nelson, Iowa linebacker Seth Benson, Michigan State linebacker Cal Haladay and Minnesota defensive back Tyler Nubin.


The B1G has certainly been making moves in the defensive game and these teams are a strong indicator of that in the 2022 season.