Three institutions are officially withdrawing from Conference USA, the conference announced Tuesday evening.

According to the announcement, C-USA has come to terms with Marshall, Old Dominion and Southern Mississippi on an official withdrawal. Those 3 programs will be allowed to leave C-USA at the end of the academic year with the conference moving forward with 11 programs for the 2022-23 academic year.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

There is big news coming to the upcoming 2022-23 Big Ten football season (and NFL season). Ohio online sports betting and Maryland sports betting are on the way.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

Those 3 programs are leaving C-USA to join the Sun Belt as a part of the realignment landscape. Charlotte, FAU, North Texas, Rice, UAB and UTSA have also left C-USA but are heading to the AAC.

“Conference USA, Marshall University, Old Dominion University, and the University of Southern Mississippi have reached a resolution that allows the schools to withdraw as members at the end of the academic year,” C-USA wrote in a statement. “The Universities will compete as members of the Sun Belt Conference.”

It will be interesting to see how these programs fare with the move to the Sun Belt.