For whatever reason, the B1G doesn’t do a preseason poll. Well, at least not an official one.

Instead, polls 38 media members in the conference and comes up with preseason predictions. Standings, awards and conference champions are all picked.

Voters ranked the teams in the division 1-7, and the corresponding point (seven points for first place, six for second, etc) was given.

Here’s what they came up with:


1. Ohio State, 260 points (34 first-place votes)

2. Penn State, 231.5 (7)

3. Michigan, 192 (1)

4. Michigan State, 128

5. Indiana, 114

6. Maryland, 100.5

7. Rutgers, 38


1. Wisconsin, 259 points (31 first-place votes)

2. Northwestern, 219 (5)

3. Nebraska, 176.5 (2)

4. Iowa, 164.5

5. Minnesota, 131

6. Purdue, 57

6. Illinois, 57

Here were the B1G Championship scenarios that each media member came up with:

Ohio State over Wisconsin (22)

Ohio State over Northwestern (5)

Ohio State over Nebraska (2)

Wisconsin over Ohio State (3)

Wisconsin over Penn State (1)

Penn State over Wisconsin (4)

Michigan over Wisconsin (1)

So yes, Ohio State was picked to win the B1G. This time, the Buckeyes were picked to beat the Badgers by 22 of the 38 media members. Including the Northwestern and Nebraska scenarios, a total of 29 media members believe Ohio State will win the title game.

For what it’s worth, Ohio State was picked to win the B1G in 2013, 2015 and 2016. The Buckeyes, of course, only won the conference title in 2014, when they weren’t picked to win it.

Surprisingly enough, last year’s B1G Championship winner Penn State only received four of 38 votes to repeat.

As for getting into the College Football Playoff, Ohio State got 26 votes, Wisconsin had four votes, Penn State had three and Michigan got one. Four voters even predicted that two B1G teams would make the playoff (three were OSU/PSU, one was OSU/Wisconsin).

In terms of the individual awards, that was a bit for favorable for Penn State. Saquon Barkley was the overwhelming media pick to repeat as B1G Offensive Player of the Year. J.T. Barrett, Trace McSorley and Justin Jackson all received first-place votes, as well.


1. Saquon Barkley, Penn State RB, 103 points (30 first-place votes)

2. J.T. Barrett, Ohio State QB, 59 points (5)

3. Trace McSorley, Penn State QB, 30 points (2)

4. Justin Jackson, Northwestern RB, 25 points (1)

5. Mike Weber, Ohio State RB, 2 points

5. L.J. Scott, Michigan State RB, 2 points

5. Alex Hornibrook, Wisconsin QB, 2 points

5. Rodney Smith, Minnesota RB, 2 points

9. Troy Fumagalli, Wisconsin TE, 1 point

9. Simmie Cobbs, Indiana WR, 1 point

9. Jamarco Jones, Ohio State LT, 1 point

On the defensive side, reigning B1G Defensive Lineman of the Year Tyquan Lewis was once again the pick to win the award. Josey Jewell was a close second place while Rashan Gary, Tegray Scales, Jerome Baker, Jack Cichy, Sam Hubbard, Maurice Hurst, T.J. Edwards and Nick Bosa all received first place votes.

Here were those complete standings:


1. Tyquan Lewis, Ohio State DE, 61 points (11 first-place votes)

2. Josey Jewell, Iowa LB, 59 points (12)

3. Rashan Gary, Michigan DE, 23 points (3)

4. Tegray Scales, Indiana LB, 19 points (4)

5. Jerome Baker, Ohio State LB, 12 points (2)

6. Sam Hubbard, Ohio State DE, 11 points (2)

7. Jack Cichy, Wisconsin LB, 10 points (1)

8. Maurice Hurst, Michigan DT, 9 points (1)

9. Marcus Allen, Penn State S, 9 points

10. T.J. Edwards, Wisconsin LB, 7 points (1)

11. Nick Bosa, Ohio State, DE 4 points (1)

12. Godwin Igwebuike, Northwestern S, 2 points

13. Steven Richardson, Minnesota DT, 1 point

13. Blessuan Austin, Rutgers CB, 1 point