Jamey Chadwell of Coastal Carolina is the Associated Press College Football Coach of the Year Award. He beat out two finalists with strong Big Ten ties.

Chadwell won the award over Indiana head coach Tom Allen and Cincinnati’s Luke Fickell, who was a former assistant and interim head coach at Ohio State. It was a phenomenal season for Coastal Carolina as the program went 11-1 this year, losing their only game of the season this week in a 37-34 loss to Liberty in the Cure Bowl.

Last season, Ed Orgeron of LSU won the award. The year before that it was Notre Dame’s Brian Kelly.

A Big Ten coach hasn’t won the AP coaching award since late Penn State head coach Joe Paterno in 2005.

Allen, named the Big Ten’s coach of the year, currently has Indiana at No. 11 and has a 6-1 record. They play on Jan. 2 in the Outback Bowl against 4-5 Ole Miss.