The College Football Playoff has announced changes to the selection committee for the 2021 season.

Five new members are joining the selection committee for three-year terms, helping to decide which four teams in the sport deserve the opportunity to compete for a national title each season. One of the newest additions to the committee is former Nebraska All-American offensive lineman Will Shields.

Shields was with the Huskers football program from 1989-92 before going on to enjoy a 14-year NFL career, spending all of that time with the Kansas City Chiefs organization. He was a 12-time Pro Bowl selection.

Here’s the list of new selection committee members:

  • Mitch Barnhart, Kentucky athletic director
  • Boo Corrigan, North Carolina State athletic director
  • Chris Del Conte, Texas athletic director
  • Will Shields, former Nebraska offensive lineman
  • Joe Taylor, former coach and Virginia Union athletic director

Along with the new additions, selection committee chair and Iowa athletic director Gary Barta has been extended to serve in that role for another year. He will serve as the chair through the 2021 college football season.

“Mitch, Boo, Chris, Will and Joe will continue the integrity that has been the committee’s hallmark through our seven seasons,” said executive director Bill Hancock. “Their knowledge, experience, and character, along with their love of the sport of college football, will make the transition seamless.

“We are pleased that Gary will return as chair. He was a valuable leader as the committee navigated a unique and challenging year. We look forward to him working with the other 12 members in what we hope will be a more traditional season in 2021.”

The four teams that competed in the College Football Playoff this past season were Alabama, Clemson, Ohio State and Notre Dame. The Crimson Tide defeated the Buckeyes to claim a national title.