The College Football Playoff announced Thursday that it officially will be expanding to 12 teams by 2024 after the Rose Bowl signed an agreement late Wednesday night. The news was reported when the Rose Bowl signed originally, but now it is official.

The process will start in 2024, which means next season will remain a 4-team battle for the title.

Here is the official announcement.

The idea of a 12-team College Football Playoff has been hotly contested. On one hand, more teams fighting for the ultimate prize does up the excitement around Playoff time. On the other, it may devalue regular season games (such as The Game) from holding any real consequence.

It’s all a moot point now. It’s happening whether those watching like it or not.