Another bowl game will not be played at the end of the 2020 season. This time, it’s college football’s second-longest running postseason event.

On Monday, Brett McMurphy of Stadium reported that the Sun Bowl will not be played at the end of the season. The game has been in 86 consecutive seasons, dating back to 1935. It’s run is second in the sport, behind only the Rose Bowl.

This will be the fourth bowl game with a Pac-12 tie-in and the third with an ACC tie-in to get marked off the schedule. While there was no specification in McMurphy’s report, it’s likely due to concerns with COVID-19.

The Sun Bowl is traditionally played in El Paso, Texas. This year, it was going to be labeled the Tony the Tiger Sun Bowl due to a sponsorship change.

From the mid-1990s through the mid-2000s, the B1G had a tie-in to the Sun Bowl, with teams appearing in 11 seasons between 1995-2005. Northwestern was the last team form the B1G to appear in the Sun Bowl, falling 50-38 to UCLA in 2005.

Last season, Arizona State defeated Florida State 20-14.