Controversy in Indy: Questionable fumble ruling results in Alabama TD
We’ve got controversy in the national championship.
In the fourth quarter of Monday night’s game, Georgia quarterback Stetson Bennett attempted to throw the football away to avoid a sack from Alabama’s Christian Harris. While Bennett’s arm was moving forward, there was some question as to whether or not he was losing possession before tossing it away.
The loose ball was recovered by Alabama’s Brian Branch just before he stepped out of bounds. The call on the field was ruled a fumble and recovered by the Crimson Tide.
Below is the play in question:
Did the refs get this one right? 🤔🤔 Ruled a fumble and recovered by Bama. #NationalChampionship pic.twitter.com/E3SJTXguY2
— 247Sports (@247Sports) January 11, 2022
After a lengthy review, the call on the field was upheld. That gave Alabama the ball at the Georgia 16-yard line.
Four plays later, Alabama was able to score its first touchdown of the game and take an 18-13 advantage in the fourth quarter. It was a huge moment in the national championship.
Was it the right call?