The Davey O’Brien Watch List was released on Tuesday afternoon and three B1G quarterbacks are among the 30 names to make the cut.

According to the Davey O’Brien Foundation’s website, players were selected based on performance from the 2018 season and expectations entering the upcoming campaign. Nominees are required to have made at least one start at their current institutions.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

There is big news coming to the upcoming 2022-23 Big Ten football season (and NFL season). Ohio online sports betting and Maryland sports betting are on the way.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

The award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback. It is the oldest quarterback award in the sport.

Here are the three B1G quarterbacks who earned a mention on the list:

  • Adrian Martinez — Nebraska
  • Shea Patterson — Michigan
  • Nate Stanley — Iowa

A group of 16 semifinalists will be named on Wednesday, Nov. 13 and three finalists will be chosen on Monday, Nov. 25. A winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN on Thursday, Dec. 12.

Last year’s winner was Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray. The last B1G quarterback to win the award was Ohio State’s Troy Smith in 2006.