The first watch list of the 2021 preseason is out.

This week, the Lott IMPACT Trophy revealed its watch list for the 2021 season. There are 42 players mentioned on the watch list this preseason, eight of which are from the B1G. The award is a college award for star defensive players.

“College defensive players are nominated to the Watch List based on the IMPACT on their teams on an off the field,” the website states. “IMPACT is an acronym for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. The 42 represents Ronnie Lott’s number during his legendary career.”

Last year’s winner was Northwestern linebacker Paddy Fisher. He was the fourth B1G player to win the award since 2015, along with Penn State’s Carl Nassib (2015), Michigan’s Jabrill Peppers (2016) and Iowa’s Josey Jewell (2017).

Here are the eight B1G candidates:

  • Zach VanValkenburg, Iowa
  • Aidan Hutchinson, Michigan
  • JoJo Domann, Nebraska
  • Brandon Joseph, Northwestern
  • Zach Harrison, Ohio State
  • PJ Mustipher, Penn State
  • George Karlaftis, Purdue
  • Jack Sanborn, Wisconsin