Two B1G head coaches are among 9 finalists for the Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award. The candidates were named on Tuesday afternoon.

Michigan’s Jim Harbaugh and Michigan State’s Mel Tucker are the B1G head coaches to be named finalists for the prestigious honor.

Harbaugh led the Wolverines to a 12-1 season and a B1G title, as well as a College Football Playoff appearance. All of those are first-time accomplishments for Michigan under Harbaugh’s guidance.

Predicted to finish last in the B1G in the preseason, Mel Tucker pushed Michigan State to a 10-2 record in his second season with the program. The Spartans were the only team to hand Michigan a loss during the 2021 campaign.

The full list of finalists for the award are:

  • Dave Aranda, Baylor
  • Nick Saban, Alabama
  • Dave Clawson, Wake Forest
  • Pat Narduzzi, Pitt
  • Kyle Whittingham, Utah
  • Luke Fickell, Cincinnati
  • Lane Kiffin, Ole Miss
  • Jim Harbaugh, Michigan
  • Mel Tucker, Michigan State

The winner of the Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award will be announced on Jan. 12, 2022.