The John R. Wooden Award is one of the most prestigious honors available to players in college basketball. Given annually to the most outstanding men’s and women’s basketball players, the award revealed its full ballot for the men’s honor on Saturday.

Out of the B1G, Purdue’s Zach Edey and Indiana’s Trayce Jackson-Davis made the ballot as some of the best big men in the country. Iowa’s Kris Murray and Penn State’s Jalen Pickett are also featured.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

There is big news coming to the upcoming 2022-23 Big Ten football season (and NFL season). Ohio online sports betting and Maryland sports betting are on the way.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

Here is the full list:

  • Armando Bacot, North Carolina
  • Antoine Davis, Detroit Mercy
  • Zach Edey, Purdue
  • Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana
  • Jaime Jaquez Jr., UCLA
  • Keyontae Johnson, Kansas State
  • Mike Miles Jr., TCU
  • Kris Murray, Iowa
  • Jalen Pickett, Penn State
  • Marcus Sasser, Houston
  • Drew Timme, Gonzaga
  • Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky
  • Azuolas Tubelis, Arizona
  • Jalen Wilson, Kansas
  • Isaiah Wong, Miami (FL)

Kentucky’s Oscar Tshiebwe is the reigning winner of the John R. Wooden Award. Should he win, he would be the first repeat recipient of the award since Virginia’s Ralph Sampson in 1982 and 1983.

B1G’s outlook for the award

Earlier in the year, Zach Edey may have been among the favorites for the award with top-10 rankings in points and rebounds for then-No. 1 Purdue. Trayce Jackson-Davis is also a solid candidate with top-10 marks in rebounds per game and blocks per game while averaging north of 20 points per game.

Other competitors for the award that play for some of the best teams in the country this season include Kansas’ Jalen Wilson, Arizona’s Azuolas Tubelis, Houston’s Marcus Sasser and UCLA’s Jaime Jaquez Jr.