The Mackey Award annually goes out to the best tight end in all of football. There were three B1G TEs announced as semifinalists per a Memphis football press release.

Here is the official list of the tight ends who are up for the award:

  • Sam LaPorta, Iowa
  • Cade Stover, Ohio State
  • Payne Durham, Purdue
  • Brock Bowers, Georgia
  • Caden Prieskorn, Memphis
  • Ja’Tavion Sanders, Texas
  • Darnell Washington, Georgia
  • Dalton Kincaid, Utah
  • Michael Mayer, Notre Dame

LaPorta is keeping the tradition of TE university at Iowa alive. LaPorta has 458 yards receiving and 1 touchdown which leads all Hawkeyes wideouts. Stover has 323 yards receiving with 3 touchdowns, Durham has 411 yards receiving and 4 touchdowns.

Former Colorado State TE Trey McBride is the most recent winner of the award. The last player from the B1G to take home the award was former Iowa TE T.J. Hockenson.

Can LaPorta continue the rich history of tight ends to go through Iowa City? Or will Stover or Durham take it home for their respective colleges?