It is still talking season after all.

On Sunday, Mike Farrell released his B1G coach power rankings, and it was controversial to say the least. Below are Farrell’s selections:

  • No. 1 – Ryan Day, Ohio State
  • No. 2 – Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern
  • No. 3 – Jim Harbaugh, Michigan
  • No. 4 – Mel Tucker, Michigan State
  • No. 5 – James Franklin, Penn State
  • No. 6 – Kirk Ferentz, Iowa
  • No. 7 – Paul Chryst, Wisconsin
  • No. 8 – Bret Bielema, Illinois
  • No. 9 – Greg Schiano, Rutgers
  • No. 10 – Jeff Brohm, Purdue
  • No. 11 – P.J. Fleck, Minnesota
  • No. 12 – Tom Allen, Indiana
  • No. 13 – Mike Locksley, Maryland
  • No. 14 – Scott Frost, Nebraska

There’s a lot going on here.

For one, many pointed out that Northwestern’s Pat Fitzgerald is too high. The Wildcats have two divisional titles under Fitzgerald in 2018 and 2020 and won the B1G coach of the year award in 2018.

That’s impressive, but is it more impressive than what Jim Harbaugh and Mel Tucker have done in the Great Lake State? In less time, Jim Harbaugh won the B1G (2021) and two divisional titles of his own. Tucker just got to Michigan State but looks to be headed in the right direction with a B1G coach of the year honor in 2021.

What do you think of this list?