It shouldn’t come as much of a surprise.

The conference that his five teams in the top 20 of the College Football Playoff poll fittingly has five coaches among the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year semifinalists.

The coaches of all five of those top-20 teams, Mark Dantonio (Michigan State), Kirk Ferentz (Iowa), Pat Fitzgerald (Northwestern), Jim Harbaugh (Michigan) and Urban Meyer (Ohio State), were among the 18 semifinalists announced on Friday. The award is presented annually to the top coach in the country.

The finalist voting for the award will take place between Dec. 8-Dec. 20, and the winner will be announced on Dec. 21.

Bill O’Brien was the last B1G coach to win the award in 2012, and Brady Hoke actually won it in 2011. Urban Meyer is the only B1G semifinalist to have already won the award, which he did for leading Utah to a perfect season in 2004.

Here’s a complete list of the semifinalist coaches:

2015 George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Semi-Finalists
Mark Dantonio, Michigan State University

Larry Fedora, University of North Carolina
Kirk Ferentz, University of Iowa
Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern University
Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State University
Jim Harbaugh, University of Michigan
Tom Herman, University of Houston
Brian Kelly, University of Notre Dame
Mike Leach, Washington State University
Jim McElwain, University of Florida
Urban Meyer, Ohio State University
Ken Niumatalolo, U.S. Naval Academy
Matt Rhule, Temple University
Nick Saban, University of Alabama
David Shaw, Stanford University
Bob Stoops, University of Oklahoma
Dabo Swinney, Clemson University
Kyle Whittingham, University of Utah

With the B1G East’s backloaded schedule, the likes of Dantonio, Harbaugh and Meyer will have as good a chance as any to boost their cases before the final vote.