The playoff bracket has been released for the FCS. It was completed on Sunday.

This year, there will be 16 teams participating in the playoffs instead of the traditional 24. A shortened season, the COVID-19 pandemic and playing games during the spring forced the NCAA to trim the number of teams in this year’s field.

Here’s a look at the eight matchups that will be held in the first round of the FCS playoffs. All games are set for Saturday, April 24:

  • Monmouth vs. Sam Houston State — 12 p.m. ET, ESPN3
  • Davidson vs. Jacksonville State — 2 p.m. ET, ESPN3
  • Virginia Military Institute (VMI) vs. James Madison — 2 p.m. ET, ESPN3
  • Holy Cross vs. South Dakota State — 3 p.m. ET, ESPN3
  • Eastern Washington vs. North Dakota State — 3:30 p.m. ET, ESPN3
  • Southern Illinois vs. Weber State — 4 p.m. ET, ESPN3
  • Missouri State vs. North Dakota — 4 p.m. ET, ESPN3
  • Sacred Heart vs. Delaware — 7 p.m. ET, ESPN3

The national championship of the FCS will be held on Sunday, May 16. Below is the bracket released from the NCAA: