The 2021-2022 FCS Playoff Tournament is set for another highly anticipated postseason run. This will be the FCS tournament that will have 24 teams participating in two seasons.

No. 1 Sam Houston (10-0), No. 2 North Dakota State (10-1), No. 3 James Madison (10-1), No. 4 Sacramento State (9-2), No. 5 Villanova (9-2), No. 6 Montana (9-2), No. 7 East Tennessee State (10-1), and No. 8 Montana State (9-2) all received first-round byes in the tournament.

James Madison and Montana are the only top eight teams that were not automatic bids into the tournaments by winning their conference.

Sam Houston State comes into this tournament as the reigning national champion after defeating South Dakota State last season. This is Florida A&M’s first appearance in the tournament since 2001. This is North Dakota State’s 12th consecutive appearance in the FCS Playoff, including 2021. Montana is playing in their 25th FCS Playoff Tournament, the most of all teams in the tournament.

The 24-team tournament is typically a fun playoff system to follow. This year should be no different.