The college football regular season came to a satisfyingly chaotic crescendo on Saturday. Now it’s time for award season as players are recognized for their achievements throughout the year.

PFF came out with its Offensive and Defensive of Player of the Year awards in the B1G for the 2021 season. On the defensive side of the ball, it should be no surprise that DE Aidan Hutchinson from Michigan won the award.

This season, for the Wolverines, Hutchinson had 54 tackles, 32 of which are solo, 14.5 tackles for loss, 13 sacks, 3 pass deflections, 2 forced fumbles and a fumble recovery.

He also recorded the single-season sack record at Michigan with 13 sacks this year. He is a projected 1st round pick in the upcoming 2022 NFL Draft in Las Vegas, NV.

On the offensive side of the ball is where you might be surprised who they picked. Iowa C Tyler Linderbaum won the PFF Offensive Player of the Year award in the B1G.

Some people may wonder why they didn’t pick RB Kenneth Walker III from Michigan State, QB C.J. Stroud from Ohio State or the plethora of excellent WRs the B1G has to offer.

Linderbaum is one of the best OLs in the country and is also a projected 1st round pick in this year’s upcoming NFL Draft.