Starting in 2016, the B1G, ACC and SEC will require each team to play a non-conference game against a Power Five school.

Or a few others that are kinda, sorta Power Five schools.

ESPN’s Brett McMurphy reported on Tuesday that FBS independents Army, BYU, Notre Dame were approved by the B1G to meet the new quota. Also on that list is Cincinnati and Connecticut, both of whom play in the American Athletic Conference. Those, however, are the only members of the AAC that will count toward the requirement.

It’s worth noting that starting in 2016, there will only be three non-conference games for B1G schools, making there even fewer chances to schedule a Power Five team.

The move will allow for Michigan State to keep its non-conference games with BYU and Notre Dame for 2016. Wisconsin would’ve also had to make an adjustment to its 2017 schedule had BYU not been part of the new policy.

Cincinnati has a bunch of future B1G meetings lined up. The Bearcats will travel to Purdue in 2016, Michigan in 2017, Ohio State in 2019, Nebraska in 2020 and Indiana in 2021.

The odd addition to the quota revision is UConn, which has home-and-home series set up with Illinois and Indiana in 2019 and 2020. UConn will now be the only acceptable non-conference Power Five opponent on IU’s 2019 and 2020 schedules.

Illinois might be in a predicament, given its future schedule beyond 2016. The Illini have their 2017 and 2018 non-conference slates booked already, all of which are against non-Power Five schools that aren’t covered under the revised quota standards.

Long story short, this saves B1G games from making a bunch of last-minute scheduling cancelations.