The College Football Playoff will go on as scheduled…for now.

Assuming the three Power 5 leagues — ACC, Big 12 and SEC — and the three Group of 5 conferences — AAC, C-USA and Sun Belt — move forward with a college football season this fall, the College Football Playoff is determined to host its championship as planned. The four conferences that have backed out — B1G, MAC, Mountain West and Pac-12 — will have to wait until next fall to get their shot at a title.

CBS Sports’ Dennis Dodd reported this week that the College Football Playoff not only plans to move forward as scheduled, but it has no anticipation of creating a four-team — or something similar — for the spring football season. The four conferences that have opted out of fall football are all pushing for a spring football model to make up for the lost season.

“We made the decision,” a College Football Playoff College Football Management Committee member told CBS Sports. “We’re moving forward with the plan as originally scheduled [to play this fall].”

On Monday, the College Football Playoff announced the dates that it will release the 2020 rankings. The first show is scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 17 and will air on ESPN. The final show — Selection Sunday — will air on Sunday, Dec. 20.

The College Football Playoff committee has stated that it will use its typical criteria when ranking teams this year, though it could be a little more challenging than usual. With a limited number of nonconference games this year, getting a strong gauge of teams could be a tough task for the committee.