The ACC, B1G and Pac-12 were the three leagues standing in the way of expanding the College Football Playoff, according to a report from Ross Dellenger of Sports Illustrated.

Friday evening, Dellenger reported that College Football Playoff chair and Mississippi State president Mark Keenum said a vote for a 12-team system was taken, with the final tally being 8-3. The ACC, B1G and Pac-12 — which formed The Alliance in August — were the leagues to vote against expansion.

A vote for expansion does not need to be unanimous for approval, however three of the five Power 5 leagues must be in favor. At this time, only two Power 5 conferences — Big 12 and SEC — voted to change the format.

“I’m disappointed,” Keenum told Dellenger. “We (the presidents) couldn’t work it out either.”

It’s unclear why The Alliance voted against the 12-team format or why it would stand in the way of including more teams. Expansion would seemingly benefit all three of those leagues.

Two of the three commissioners — Kevin Warren (B1G) and George Kliavkoff (Pac-12) — released statements after the College Football Playoff announced it is sticking with a 4-team format.

“I share the disappointment felt by many college football fans today,” Kliavkoff wrote on Twitter. “I look forward to working collaboratively with other Commissioners to deliver a football playoff format that is more inclusive and balanced.”

“To be very clear, the B1G supports expansion of the College Football Playoff system,” Warren told ESPN. “I trust we will continue to collectively address the unresolved matters and move forward with expansion for the greater good of college football.”

Per a statement released from the College Football Playoff on Friday, the 4-team format will stay in place through 2025, with the first potential change coming in 2026.