Since 1996, the Frank Broyles Award has been given to the best assistant coach in all of college football. The award is named after former Arkansas athletic director Frank Broyles.

The 2021 nominees for the award were announced on Monday, with a lot of coaches from the B1G getting nominated.

9 assistant coaches from the B1G made it on the list that was posted on Twitter by the Broyles Award account.The B1G leads all Power 5 conferences with the most coaches on the list.

Here’s who made the list from the B1G:

  • Jay Johnson, Michigan State, OC
  • Joe Rossi, Minnesota, DC
  • Erik Chinader, Nebraska, DC
  • Kevin Wilson, Ohio State, OC
  • Brent Pry, Penn State, DC
  • Ryan Walters, Illinois, DC
  • Phil Parker, Iowa, DC
  • Josh Gattis, Michigan, OC
  • Jim Leonhard, Wisconsin, DC

Tom Herman was the last winner of the award from the B1G back in 2014 when he was the offensive coordinator. The B1G should have a good chance of winning the award with all the nominees from the conference.